Stories of Inspiration – Volunteer Manager with Big Heart

Our volunteer’s hearts are PINK and their caring has no limit!
Are you a leader, a thinker, or a doer?

DON’T DELAY, VOLUNTEER TODAY for the 2015 RACE FOR THE CURE
Friday night, August 28, 2015

Volunteer ImageVolunteers play a vital role in the Susan G. Komen Greater Cincinnati Race for the Cure®. The success of the Race depends heavily on the support we receive from more than a hundred volunteers in the months leading up to the Race and on Race Day. Their passion and commitment is what makes our Race successful. Today, thanks to more than 100,000 survivors and volunteers/activists, Susan G. Komen® is the world’s largest, most progressive grassroots organization fighting breast cancer.

Many volunteer opportunities are still available, click on the link below for more details and to sign up.

http://cincinnati.info-komen.org/site/PageNavigator/CIN_volunteerManagement.html

If you have any questions please contact Jennifer Berigan jenniferb@komencincinnati.org or 513-671-9100 ext. 207

Spotlight
Jennifer Berigan, Susan G. Komen Greater Cincinnati – Staff
Manager of Special Events and Volunteers.

I started with the Susan G. Komen Greater Cincinnati Affiliate on February 8, 2006 (on what would have been my mother’s 57th birthday). I hopped on a plane (which is HUGE – I do not like to fly) that day for a Komen Leadership conference in Arkansas – I was blown away by this organizations passion, determination and drive to find a cure. I know my mom is proud of me for joining the Komen team especially, since she passed away May 28, 2005. I started my career as the Community Outreach and Events Manager- this was a perfect fit for me. My background, prior to having kids, was teaching. So the thought of going out into the community and educating people about breast health awareness was an exciting new adventure for me.

I have been with the Greater Cincinnati Affiliate for almost 10 years. The 2015 Race for the Cure will be my 10th race – WOW! My roles have changed throughout my time here and I have learned so much about how this organization operates.  I am currently the Special Events and Volunteers Manager, again, this is a perfect fit for me because I love to teach/ train volunteers to become amazing Komen Ambassadors in our 21 county community.

I encourage you to read our grants page online and learn more about where every dollar is spent. 75% of all funds raised stays here locally and 25% goes to national research. Through our 2015-2016 community grants, Komen Greater Cincinnati is investing $366,170 in education, diagnosis, treatment and support programs here in the Greater Cincinnati area provided by 8 local organizations that serve uninsured or underinsured residents in our service area. Additionally, $150,000 was awarded to Sponsored Research of Joan Garrett, PhD at the University of Cincinnati. Since it was founded in 1997, Komen Greater Cincinnati has invested more than $10.3 million in local breast health agencies and organizations

So, why do I work for Susan G. Komen Greater Cincinnati as the Special Events and Volunteer Manager? Because I believe in the Komen mission and I love to teach. I am passionate about finding a cure for breast cancer not only because I lost my mom, and many friends have been touch by this horrible disease but because I have two beautiful daughters and my wish for them is to:
GROW UP IN A WORLD WITHOUT BREAST CANCER!

(Me and my daughters) Kylee + Ella = my INSPIRATION!

(Me and my daughters) Kylee + Ella = my INSPIRATION!

 

Leave a Reply

