Stories of Inspiration – Volunteer Spreads Hope

Race season is in full swing! If you didn’t know, our 18th Annual Race for the Cure is Friday night, August 28th. We’d like to highlight some inspirational stories over the next few weeks. We hope they inspire you to register, volunteer or make a difference in someones life.

Our first post is written by Donna Traylor, an avid volunteer and mother of breast cancer survivor and Komen Cincinnati staff member Melissa. Enjoy!

“Why do I volunteer for Susan G. Komen?  I volunteer because I want to support the fundraising efforts of Susan G. Komen events, which provide early detection programs and funding for breast cancer research.

Why do I want to do that you ask? I do it for my daughter, and for all the other men and women that are affected by breast cancer. They all deserve to have hope,

Melissa crossing the finish line as a survivor in 2013

Melissa crossing the finish line as a survivor

HOPE that one day there will be a cure. I became involved with Susan G. Komen Greater Cincinnati four years ago, shortly after my 25 year old daughter was diagnosed with Stage 2 breast cancer. I felt like I needed to do something, something that made me feel like I could make a difference. Volunteering is so easy, fun, and most of all, it’s very rewarding. A few hours of my time a year, is the least I can do.

I volunteer at the Greater Cincinnati Race for the Cure and at the Komen 3-Day 60

Jeff and Donna Traylor Proud Volunteers

Jeff and Donna – Proud Volunteers

mile walk in Atlanta. It always brings tears to my eyes when I hear a walker say “thank you”. I used to wonder why are they thanking me for volunteering? But now I understand why they say that, if it weren’t for volunteers like myself, there wouldn’t be a Race for the Cure or a 3-day 60 mile walk, there would be less of a chance for HOPE, for a CURE.

If breast cancer has touched the life of someone you love, you will understand why I’m so passionate about volunteering for this wonderful organization. When it’s your daughter or your loved one, you want do anything you can to make a difference and to help find a cure and that’s why I volunteer.”

 

If you are interested in volunteering at this year’s Race for the Cure, please contact Jennifer Berigan at jenniferb@komencincinnati.org or click here to check out the volunteer listings on our website.

Register Today

Leave a Reply

